7 Audiobooks for the time-poor woman

7 Audiobooks for the time-poor woman

If like us, you’re guilty of buying more and more books and struggling to get through them all, why not try an audiobook this winter? They are a great way to discover a new narrative without compromising on time. Enjoy stories whilst cooking, walking the dog and working out and say goodbye to juggling books on a crowded commute. Here are 7 that you won’t want to give up on – we’re all ears.

1. The Curious Heart of Alisa Rae by Stephanie Butland

 

Alisa Rae is only a few months past the heart transplant that – just in time – saved her life. Life should be a joyful adventure. Yet, her relationship with her mother is at breaking point, and she wants to find her father. Then there’s Lennox. Her best friend and onetime lover. He was sick too and he didn’t make it. Follow her journey in a funny, heart-wrenching story that is both brave and beautifully written.

 

Listen to extract

2. My Thoughts Exactly, by Lily Allen

 

The number one Sunday Times best selling autobiography from the one and only Lily Allen – woman, mother, singer, songwriter. A very honest and brave account of the artist’s life from childhood until now, told in her own voice.

 

Listen to extract

3. The Secrets You Hide by Kate Helm

 

Georgia Sage has a gift: she can see the evil in people and as a courtroom artist she uses her skills to help condemn those who commit terrible crimes. But when she is drawn back into the twisted trial that defined her career, she realises her own reckless pursuit of justice may have helped the guilty go free. The Secrets You Hide is a gripping, emotional thriller with a twist that will take your breath away.

4. The Distance Between Me and the Cherry Tree by Paola Peretti

 

A novel for fans of Wonder, The Little Prince and The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly. Mafalda is a nine-year-old girl who knows one thing: some time in the next six months her sight will fail completely. Can Mafalda find a way through a seemingly dark future? This is a simply told, bitter-sweet story, with a powerful poetic message.

 

Listen to extract

5. The Secrets of Primrose Square by Claudia Carroll

 

From the number one bestselling author Claudia Carroll comes a feel-good story that will make you laugh and cry, and above all, leave you with a feeling of hope. Primrose Square is a residential delight, nestled in the heart in the city of Dublin where three women are brought together to show the importance of friendship and community spirit.

 

Listen to extract

6. Widows by Lynda La Plante:

 

Introducing the fast-paced thriller that is the basis for Steve McQueen’s most recent blockbuster film. In all all female cast you won’t forget, Dolly Rawlins, Linda Perelli and Shirley Miller are left devastated when their husbands are killed in a heist that goes wrong. When Dolly finds the detailed plans for the hijack, an idea starts to form. Could she and the other wives finish the job their husbands started?

 

Listen to extract

7. A House of Ghosts by W. C. Ryan

 

As the First World War enters its most brutal phase, back home in England, everyone is seeking answers. Meanwhile on an island off the Devon coast, Lord Highmount has arranged a spiritualist gathering to contact his sons who were lost in the conflict. As his guests begin to arrive, it becomes clear that each has something they would rather keep hidden. Enjoy a mystery that is packed with twists and turns – the perfect chilling listen this winter.

 

Listen to extract

More Inspiration

6 books to inspire a more natural existence

Arts & Culture
It would be hard to ignore the cultural shift towards environmental consciousness in recent years. Whether it’s eating vegan, ...read more

International Women’s Day: Six Instagram accounts to follow

Arts & Culture
For International Women’s Day, we're feeling inspired by the women who want to celebrate other womenread more

Whistles Book Club: Art and design must-haves

Arts & Culture
This season we have selected five art and design books that encompass a host of diverse themes and subject matter. ...read more